Resilience Part 3

This whole back to school thing has slowed me down.  The busyness of school life spills into the home and also makes you tired.  Too much movement up and down the stairs, in and around the school, always trying to plan ahead and make sure you have all the resources you need for the next batch of lessons.

We all need to be learning more about resilience and just getting on with stuff.

I was on a Zoom chat earlier this evening with some folks from the Chartered College of Teachers and I was reminded by a guy that our role as teachers was often to act as interrupters to interrupt the world view of the student we meet.   I have to say that I would generally describe myself as a disrupter more than interrupter . . . . I like to disrupt the norm but then to rebuild a more resilient, focused, adaptable, creative learner.

As a teacher – we have to make a decision to help build resilience in our students.   It is something that we can control.  It is something that can drip from every single interaction and every single contact we have with students.   Students know when we are bluffing.  They know when we don’t really believe in them.   They know when we are trying to build them up with false hopes.   Students want to believe us.  They want to believe that they can get that A* or that they can be the best in the class.    They might not  want to do the required work or they might not actually believe in themselves but if a teacher keeps the faith  . . .  miracles can happen.

Slide6

The question then is, ‘How can we help to develop resilience in the classroom?’

In this short series – As part of my look at Growth Mindset – I am going to take a look at how we can maybe try to help build resilience.  Take a look at my third post where I continue to talk about the role that teachers can play in building up (and challenging) the resilience of the learners in our classrooms.

3.  How can I develop resilience in my classroom? 

The previous posts are here as well!

  1. What is Resilience 
  2. 2.  How resilient are you and how do we build resilience? 

About timmanson

I'm a teacher/ leader/ writer/ geographer/ husband/ dad/ Believer/ son/ brother
This entry was posted in Growth Mindset, Resilience. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment