The language of Christmas

The language of Christmas 

Sometimes I reflect on how far I have come as a teacher.  Or, perhaps it is more correct to say that I reflect on how far I have come as a person.   I am far from perfect and am mightily glad that my successes usually outweigh my failures . . .  but it is a close-run thing! 

An example of this can maybe be seen in how I used to interact with students in the run up to Christmas.  I have never really been the sort of teacher who particularly enjoys the ‘fun’ stuff before Christmas.   It’s not that I’m a ‘Bah Humbug’ guy but my thinking has always been that if the parents of a teenager have done their best to dump their child out of bed to come into school, then the least I can do is ensure that they arrive to something constructive, educational and of benefit to the subject/ exam that they are moving towards.   I like to work to the very end (or as close as I can when other events and trips might get in the way).  It also helps with class behaviour – yes, you have to put down those cries about what Christmas films they have been watching in their last class or the so-called party they had with that other teacher – but, I persevere for as long as I can.   

Then,  for the last lesson of the year – it’s time to break out my traditional coming up to Christmas games.  I have two that I have used for the last 28 seasons as a teacher at Christmas. 

1 – Quiz Noughts and Crosses 

This is where I put a Noughts and Crosses board on the whiteboard and add in a few categories like books, music, films, TV, sport, geography, history etc and ask two sets of teams some made up questions.   

2 – The Where am I?  game 

Many years ago I had an old ‘Question of Sport’ game that had two spiral bound score boards.  I use these and put a score of 9 on the board.  Two teams have turns to ask me questions about where I might be (I wish!).  If I say YES – they get to keep asking questions.  If I say NO – then they lose a point and the questioning passes to the other team.   (Yes – I know this is also a cracking way of getting them to think about questions but is not the primary focus!!)  

However, its maybe more in what I say and what I don’t say that has changed over the years.  As a young teacher I might have asked students what they wanted for Christmas, what is Santa bringing you?  But now, I ask – are you doing anything nice for Christmas?  Do you like Christmas?   What do you do at Christmas?  There is a subtle change to my language as I have come to realise that some kids do not look forward to Christmas – they actively hate it.   It might be a time where they feel even more isolated, more lonely, more disadvantaged that some of their friends.  They don’t look forward to having the family round.  They don’t want to be at home for such a long time.   They don’t want to be further reminded that they are not important, not cared for properly.   I’m a lot more sensitive to those quiet ones who don’t like to say much.   The ones who hide their poverty.  It makes me really sad to think that some of the pupils that I come across won’t be spoiled, even a little bit.   My language has changed – so that I don’t embarrass someone, so that I don’t make them feel worth less than someone else.   

Christmas should be a time for family, a time for being together and for giving gifts to those we love.  It’s a time to remember the greatest gift that we have ever been given when God came down to earth with a rescue plan in mind for us all.  He didn’t arrive in a palace but into a lowly stable – reminding us that those of us who have plenty should be sharing with those who don’t.   But, the thing I am reminded of the most, is that every interaction I have as a teacher should also make a difference.  My students should see me as someone who supports them, looks out for them and who tries to get the very best out of them and for them.    

Merry Christmas – I hope you have time to pause and recharge the batteries ready for what’s next! 

About timmanson

I'm a teacher/ leader/ writer/ geographer/ husband/ dad/ Believer/ son/ brother
This entry was posted in Learning and Teaching and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment